Newton Sibanda (L) has been consistently and qualitatively covering energy and water issues for close to two decades.

May 26, 2018
WJA Reporter

Newton Sibanda, a freelance journalist, in Lusaka, Zambia has been named winner of Energy/Water Reporter of the Year at the 5th edition of the African Utility Week Industry Awards.

Sibanda, is one of the founders of Water Journalists Africa network, the largest network of journalists who report about water on the African continent. Some 700 journalists from 50 African countries to date are members of this network making it certainly the largest media network on the continent.

The awards gala took place on 16th May 2018, in cape Town, South Africa.

The Energy/Water Reporter of the Year is a new category of which Mr Sibanda is a pioneer winner.

Mr Sibanda has been consistently and qualitatively covering energy and water issues for close to two decades, writing compelling articles for both local and international media.

His work has not only had policy impact, but also inspired other journalists to cover the two areas. It is in this regard that in May 2006, he was invited to attend the 14th session of the UN Commission for Sustainable Development (CSD-14) at the UN Headquarters in New York where he presented a p aper titled “Reporting on Energy Issues in Zambia.”

The finalists in the Energy/Water Reporter of the Year category are:
Newton Sibanda, Features and Supplements Editor, Zambia Daily Mail, Zambia;
Saya Pierce, Reporter, Smile90.4 FM, South Africa;
Emeka Anuforo, Senior Energy Correspondent, Guardian Newspaper, Nigeria;
Chris Yelland, Energy Reporter, EE Publishers, South Africa;
Fredrick Mugira, Vision Group, Uganda/coordinator Water Journalists Africa Network;
Sally Ngakanyanga, Independent Journalist, Zimbabwe.

The 2018 CATEGORIES were:
Lifetime Achievement Award
Outstanding Contribution Award: Power
Outstanding Contribution Award: Water
Outstanding Contribution Award: Young Leader
Energy/Water Reporter of the Year – NEW CATEGORY

Power Utility of the Year
Water Utility of the Year
Grid-Tied Renewable Energy Project (10MW +)
Small-Scale Sustainable Energy Project (under 5MW)
Innovative Technology of the Year
Deal of the Year
The Digital Solution Award – NEW CATEGORY

Water Journalists Africa, established in 2011 as a not-for-profit media organization, boasts a membership of journalists hailing from 50 African countries, dedicated to reporting on water, climate change,...

Leave a comment